The Australian and New Zealand Environmental History Network (ANZEHN) is seeking nominations from people interested in joining the executive committee. 

Since its establishment in 1997 the ANZEHN has grown into the major channel for the distribution of information about environmental history events, awards and publications to practitioners in Australasia and beyond. 

Our website attracts between 1600 and 2200 visitors every month and our email list keeps >520 subscribers up to date on environmental history events and opportunities in Australasia and worldwide. The website hosts member profiles and a regular round-up of environmental history publications. We also run a  Twitter account and closed Australian Environmental History Facebook group. 

In 2016, Jodi Frawley, Nancy Cushing and Chris McConville convened the first ANZEHN environmental history ‘Green Stream’ at the Australian Historical Association conference, and the transition to a new leadership team was inaugurated. The Green Stream has since run every year at the AHA, attracting around 35 papers on average, raising the profile of environmental history and deepening connections amongst environmental historians. 

The process of forming a new ANZEHN executive committee for 2020-2021 was to have taken place at the 2020 AHA but as the conference was cancelled due to COVID-19 we have moved it online. 

The committee comprises up to 12 members, some with particular roles (including Convenor, Newsletter and Website Coordinator, Social Media, International Engagement) and some without portfolios who contribute to meetings and Network initiatives. Roles may be individual or shared; nominees can express interest in any role. Executive committee meetings are held as required via zoom.

If you would like to take on a leadership role in Australasian environmental history please consider self-nominating for the committee. Nominations, as well as questions about committee membership or the Network, should be sent to the Network’s current Convenor, Andrea Gaynor on andrea.gaynor [at] before Friday 12th June. We anticipate that the new committee will be inaugurated in July 2020.